The Master Cleanse – Day 5

Today I almost gave up on the detox.

I didn’t have a good night’s sleep as I kept waking up to a racing heart and aching muscles. I woke up in a morning with a severely splitting headache and was feeling very nausea. I don’t think that these were the side effects of the detox and it was rather impossible to feel something so strongly on the 5th day. I had have a heart not to go to work as I felt horrendous. But I had to drag myself to work no matter what as there were a million things that I had to attend to.

While waiting for my transport, I did a quick search on the net and read that this is due to the lack of sodium and potassium for the muscles. On route, I popped into a convenience store to pick up a bottle of Gatorade to replenish these two minerals. At that point in time, I had already decided to end my Master Cleanse due to the discomfort I was experiencing. After sipping down half a bottle of Gatorade, things went back to normal and I felt much much better. I guess it must have been the run yesterday that kinda drained my body from the sodium and potassium leading to me feeling like this in the morning.

In the office, when I told Jenn about my intentions of ending somehow she managed to convinced me to stick to the plan! As I had a business lunch on Friday, I had to nibble on some food as it would not be nice to not even touch a bit of the food. I continued with my lemonade later in the afternoon.

Somehow this comeback made me more determined to complete it properly and I am even trying to see if I could manage the master cleanse when I am overseas on Monday.

Good night!

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

