My First Cake

I don’t have much opportunity to step into the kitchen when i have so many good cooks around me and to spare everyone else around me with the agony of having to bear with my less than palatable cooking.

But when I do make something, I try my very best to follow the receipe very closely, despite the high tendencies of deviating from the instructions due to impatience.

I have cooked some meals, baked some cookies and froze some cheesecake but never have i actually baked a cake. And what better occassion to bake it for beebops birthday!

I was meant as a surprise for him and everything was done within the timing that he was out for his usual soccer activities. (read: 3 hours that he was out of the house)

I was searching around for the choice of cake, taking into consideration my amatuerish skill of baking and his liking for bananas, I guess it only led to one cake: ” Banana Chocolate Cake”.

The main ingredients: Banana and chocolate. Duh!

Photobucket
Photobucket

After the baking, the cake seems to have expanded too much from the center creating a peak in the middle. I’m not sure of the reason why too.

Photobucket

Slice the cake across the cross section to get three layers of chococake
Photobucket

Preparing the cream to spread on the individual layers, in chocolate too!
Photobucket

The texture of the chocolate cream should have been thicker!
Photobucket
Line the bananas on the layer and repeat with the 2nd layer.
Photobucket

Place the layers on top of each other, coat the rest of the cake with chocolate fudge and let your creativity take over!

Photobucket

I can’t help but be a bit pleased with myself for being able to have the final product out, without people chocking and running to the toilet after they take a bite from the cake.

Till I find another occasion to bake again. 🙂

  1. #1 by Breezy Pink on August 31, 2010 - 8:53 am

    Wow, given the short amt of time, good job! :o)

  2. #2 by Esther Chia on September 3, 2010 - 3:35 pm

    So Sweet! Was yr beehops touched? =)

  3. #3 by Kenny on September 6, 2010 - 1:40 am

    Wow, it looks really nice. Something I would love too! Chocolate and bananas…. yum.

  4. #4 by ~ Everest ~ on October 9, 2010 - 3:33 pm

    Breezy pink thanks! 😉

    Esther, to tell u the truth he was more concerned about continuing his board game than cut the cake!!

    Kenny, where have u been?!? Yes u love to eat EVERYTHING!

Leave a Reply

